Blog posts, Product | 06/15/2021

Buy Crypto Through Ledger: which provider is made for me?


Since the integration of Wyre in Ledger Live, you now have the option to buy crypto through Ledger with either Coinify or Wyre. The question that flows naturally from it is what are the differences between those two buying providers? Well, there are 3 main differences which may influence your choice, or determine it: eligibility, coins supported and payment methods. Let’s find out more about them! 

Why Buy through ledger?

The Buy Crypto feature allows our users to directly buy different crypto assets directly through Ledger Live. You will no longer need to go outside of the security of the Ledger ecosystem to buy your favorite crypto! which provides you with severals substantial benefits:

  • Fast and easy! In just a few clicks, you can buy your crypto which is then directly secured through your Ledger device! You won’t even have to worry about setting up a transaction from your exchange to the address managed by your Ledger hardware wallet. It’s all automatic.
  • Your crypto will directly benefit from the security of a Ledger hardware wallet! It reduces a step that not only saves you time, but also immediately reduces a lot of risks for your crypto assets.
  • Only you are in control! Nobody but you is in charge of the crypto you buy. No third parties, no exchange. Your assets are secure and in your control, starting from the moment you finish the purchase. 
  • Everything in one place! Ledger is the gateway to buy crypto securely, and so much more. Through Ledger, you can also swap, sell, manage, grow your crypto… all in one app.

Which buying provider is made for me?

By integrating several buying providers, Ledger aims at providing you with as much freedom as possible when it comes to crypto. The comparison table below has been designed to help you navigate through those differences and choose the provider that fits your needs.

Buy with Coinify
Bitcoin (BTC), Ethereum (ETH), USD Tether (USDT), MakerDAO (MKR), Chainlink (LINK), Uniswap (UNI), Compound (COMP), Bitcoin Cash (BCH), Polkadot (DOT), Litecoin (LTC), Stellar (XLM), Dogecoin (DOGE), Celsius (CEL)
Due to local regulations, it’s possible to buy with Coinify through Ledger in the following countries: 

Andorra, Angola, Anguilla, Antigua & Barbuda, Argentina, Armenia, Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Bahrain, Belgium, Belize, Benin, Bermuda, Brazil, British Virgin Islands, Brunei Darussalam, Bulgaria, Buthan, Cabo Verde, Cameroon, Canada, Chad, Chile, Colombia, Comoros, Costa Rica, Côte d’Ivoire, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Djibouti, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Dutch Caribbean, El Salvador, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Estonia, Ethiopia, Faroe Islands, Fiji, Finland, France, Gabon, Gambia, Georgia, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Greenland, Grenada, Guadeloupe, Guatemala, Guernsey, Guinea, Guyana, Honduras, Hong Kong, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Isle of Man, Israel, Italy, Jersey, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kiribati, Kuwait, Laos, Latvia, Lesotho, Liberia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macao, Madagascar, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Malta, Marshall Islands, Mauritania, Mexico, Micronesia, Moldova, Monaco, Montserrat, Mozambique, Namibia, Netherlands, Netherlands Antilles, New Zealand, Niger, Nigeria, Norway, Oman, Palau, Palestinian Territory, Papu New Guinea, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Romania, Russia, Rwanda, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and Grenadines, Samoa, San Marino, Sao Tome and Principe, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, Spain, Sri Lanka, Suriname, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Tajikistan, Timor-Leste, Togo, Tonga, Tunisia, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Turks and Caicos Islands, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay, Uzbekistan, Vietnam, Zambia.
Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Delaware, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Jersey, New Hampshire, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Texas, Utah, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming. 

American Samoa, District of Columbia, Guam, Northern Mariana Islands, Puerto Rico, U.S. Virgin Islands.
Payment Method(s)
Buy with Wyre
Bitcoin (BTC), Ethereum (ETH), USD Tether (USDT), MakerDAO (MKR), Chainlink (LINK), Uniswap (UNI), Compound (COMP),
Aave (AAVE), Basic Attention Token (BAT), Curve Dao Token (CRV), DAI (DAI), Paxos Standard (PAX), Synthetix Network Token (SNX), UMA (UMA), USD Coin (USDC), Wrapped Bitcoin (WBTC), Yearn Finance (YFI), Wrapped Ethereum (WETH), Binance USD (BUSD), Stably USD (USDS), Gemini Dollar (GUSD).
Due to local regulations, Wyre is only eligible through Ledger in some U.S. states (see below).
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Jersey, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Michigan, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming.

District of Columbia, Northern Mariana Islands, Puerto Rico.
Payment Method(s)

Stay in touch

Announcements can be found in our blog. Press contact:
[email protected]

Subscribe to our

New coins supported, blog updates and exclusive offers directly in your inbox